Skip to content

The Heidelberg Catechism & Westminster Shorter Catechism

June 28, 2008

Each week our church works through several questions from the Heidelberg, and parts of the Westminster. And though I and not always successful, I try to read a question a day out of both the Hiedelberg and Westminster’s Shorter.

 

The first question in Westminster’s confession is so important, that without the answering of a simple yet intricate question………Nothing else makes sense(or has purpose)

Westminster Shorter Catechism

Question one

Q: What is the chief end of man?
A: Man’s chief end is to glorify God,1 and to enjoy him forever.2

1. 1 Corinthians 10:31. Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God. Romans 11:36. For of him, and through him, and to him, are all things: to whom be glory for ever. Amen.

2. Psalm 73:24-26. Thou shalt guide me with thy counsel, and afterward receive me to glory. Whom have I in heaven but thee? and there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee. My flesh and my heart faileth: but God isthe strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.
John 17:22, 24.And the glory which thou gavest me I have given them; that they may be one, even as we are one… Father, I will that they also, whom thou hast given me, be with me where I am; that they may behold my glory, which thou hast given me: for thou lovedst me before the foundation of the world.

Heidelberg Confession

Question 1:

1. Q. What is your only comfort in life and death?

A. That I am not my own,[1] but belong with body and soul, both in life and in death,[2] to my faithful Saviour Jesus Christ.[3] He has fully paid for all my sins with His precious blood, and has set me free from all the power of the devil.[5] He also preserves me in such a way[6] that without the will of my heavenly Father not a hair can fall from my head;[7] indeed, all things must work together for my salvation.[8] Therefore, by His Holy Spirit He also assures me of eternal life[9] and makes me heartily willing and ready from now on to live for Him.[10]

[1] I Cor. 6:19, 20 [2] Rom. 14:7-9. [3] I Cor. 3:23; Tit. 2:14. [4] I Pet. 1:18, 19; I John 1:7; 2:2. [5] John 8:34-36; Heb. 2:14, 15; I John 3:8. [6] John 6:39, 40; 10:27-30; II Thess. 3:3; I Pet. 1:5. [7] Matt. 10:29-31; Luke 21:16-18. [8] Rom. 8:28. [9] Rom. 8:15, 16; II Cor. 1:21, 22; 5:5; Eph. 1:13, 14. [10] Rom. 8:14.

2 Comments
  1. J.R. permalink

    Hey Tom!, Enjoyed the pick-up in posts…thanks!
    These catechism’s are great things to keep in mind…..even memorize’)

    BTW–I think the new look of the blog is much better…I had issues with the other one;)?

    Standing firm,
    Joshua Rug.

  2. J.R. permalink

    Whoops, I’m not sure why the question mark is there. Let’s just say the can didn’t fit……….good change”)

    Thought you might like a comment……..
    Josh

Leave a Reply

