Skip to content

Tom: Singing a more serious tune.

June 27, 2008

I know I wrote this years ago, but I thought it was a good one to use as the beginning point for Thursdays.

Howdy! As the eldest son still at home I have been selected to write an article for the blog today (actually it’s 11:06 p.m. the night before today!) I still do that to this day:).

For those of you that don’t know me well;you must needs be warned. I am the type of person that would give my right arm to get a laugh or even a smile out of someone. I usually am successful, and keep both my arms -so far! Unfortunate though for you, today I want to sing a more serious tune.

As a young man who just recently turned sixteen I have begun to wonder, where are the men of yesterday, “TODAY”? Where are the Luther’s, the Isaac Watts, and the Jonathan Edwards? Has our level of spiritual maturity fallen so low, that we no longer challenge the enemy at our gates? We have not only let the enemy come through the gates; but into our homes, our churches, and into our very beds. Paraphrasing what a Civil War General once exclaimed,
“ Because of our past decisions, now we have HELL TO PAY!”As flabbergasting as this might sound, not only do we have hell to pay; but our children, and our children’s children do as well. Don’t believe me? Just look at the millions of dead babies! Because our grandparents were not firmly grounded in the scriptures, in science, and in argumentation, millions of innocent children have been murdered. The very thought that the average Christian can’t properly defend his/her beliefs against an Atheist; should bring icy chills over our bodies. Who can fathom the persecution we have and will receive, because of our willful stupidity of the scriptures, of our giving into the latest thing of the world just so we don’t look strange, and of our cowardliness in the face of evil? For God our Father allows us, his children to be persecuted to test our love for him, and to open our skuzzy sticky eyelids to the truth of God.

Undoubtedly, when I think of a campaign against the world of evil, visions of marches down Main Street come to mind, or hastily written hothead emails/letters to the editors. Though all these things do some good. Ill planned, badly worded, horribly carried out campaigns happen all the time (and these do little for the name of Christ Jesus our Lord and Savior). I myself have failed to uphold many of these things I have just expounded on. But I have promised to continually study the scriptures, as well as take courses to further my ability to defend the faith.

Listed below are a few books I highly recommend for resources on the subjects of Biblical law, science, & finances: The Institutes on the Constitution, The Institute for Creation Research, “God and Government” by Gary Demar, and “The Uncle Eric”series by Richard J. Maybury.

I plead with you on my knees; encourage your sons, daughters, your wife or husband, and yourself to be constantly studying individually and as a family. It is now 12:00 p.m. and I am very tired, so I will leave you now. May you be blessed by what I have said.

Thomas DeLadurantey
Son of Charles DeLadurantey

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

